Steven Gerrard has been voted as the greatest central midfielder in Premier League history…

After many rounds of voting – and thousands of votes cast – the Arsenal legend beat Ryan Giggs in the final with Cristiano Ronaldo and Paul Scholes sharing third place.

This week, the Football Tweet Twitter account decided to do something similar. This time, however, they wanted to discover the greatest central midfielder in Premier League history.

They sorted the 12 best central midfielders into three ‘semi-finals.’ The winner of each vote would then progress into a three-man final.

Who would be crowned the best midfielder in Premier League history?

In the first heat, Paul Scholes comfortably saw off Patrick Vieira, David Silva and Paul Pogba with 46.9% of the vote.

Following him into the final was Kevin de Bruyne, who narrowly got the better of Frank Lampard by 36.8% of the vote to 31.3%.

Roy Keane and N’Golo Kante came third and fourth respectively in that vote.

So to the final between Scholes, De Bruyne and Gerrard.

Three incredible players for Manchester United, Manchester City and Liverpool respectively but there could only be one winner.

And after 35,000 votes, Gerrard pipped Scholes to the win by the narrowest of margins.

The Liverpool legend received 38.7% of the vote, with Scholes just 0.2% behind him. De Bruyne came third with 22.9%.

Posted by on Apr 22 2020. Filed under En Direct, Featured, Sports. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Search Archive

Search by Date
Search by Category
Search with Google

Photo Gallery

Copyright © 2011-2016 Minority Voice. All rights reserved.